To answer the question (What happens to my Maine driver’s license after my third suspension? ), one needs to consider the cause of suspension. Ultimately, what happens to you after a third license suspension depends upon why your license was suspended. The suspension can be due to driving-related crimes, or because of traffic violation-related license suspensions.
For questions about your specific circumstances regarding the question (What happens to my Maine driver’s license after my third suspension?), I encourage you to contact me for a free legal consultation. I am always happy to take the time to meet with people and answer their questions.
What is a driving-related crime?
Examples of driving related crimes include the following:
- Vehicular Homicide
- Operating Under the Influence (OUI/DUI/DWI)
- Driving to Endanger (DTE, Reckless Driving)
- Operating or Driving After Suspension (OAS)
- Operating Without a License
- Failure to Report an Accident
- Criminal Speeding
- Eluding an Officer
- Passing a Roadblock
- Any other crime committed with the use of a car or motor vehicle
Third suspension for driving-related crimes
If your third driver’s license suspension is as a result of three driving-related criminal convictions, such as those listed above, within the past five (5) years, this would trigger Habitual Offender (HO) status with the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). When a person becomes a Habitual Offender, their driver’s license is revoked (suspended indefinitely).
You can also become a Habitual Offender by accumulating ten (10) moving traffic violations within a five (5) year period. Under Maine statute 29-A M.R.S.A. §101(44), a “Moving Violation” is defined as a traffic violation “for which points may be assessed…” Under this definition, moving violations are traffic violations for which you can accumulate demerit points.
What is a traffic violation-related license suspension?
Your driver’s license can be suspended by the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) if you accumulate enough demerit points on your driving record. With just twelve (12) demerit points on your driving record within one (1) year can trigger a 15-day suspension of your driver’s license.
Examples of traffic violations that trigger demerit points and their accompanying demerit point amounts include:
- Driving on the wrong side of the road (6 demerit points)
- Speeding at least 15 miles per hour over the posted limit (6 demerit points)
- Driving without Corrective Lenses when necessary (6 demerit points)
- Improper Passing (6 demerit points)
- Passing on the right (6 demerit points)
- Violation of Learner’s Permit (6 demerit points)
- Speeding less than 15 miles per hour over the posted limit (4 demerit points)
- Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle (4 demerit points)
- Failure to Yield to a Pedestrian (4 demerit points)
- Failure to Obey Stop Sign or Stop at Red Light (4 demerit points)
- Failure to Dim Headlights (2 demerit points)
- Failure to Signal (2 demerit points)
- Failure to maintain control of vehicle (2 demerit points)
- Failure to reduce speed on a grade or curve (2 demerit points)
- Following too close (2 demerit points)
- Illegal left or right turn (2 demerit points)
- Illegal U-turn (2 demerit points)
- Obstructing the flow of traffic (2 demerit points)
- Squealing Tires (2 demerit points)
- Trailer Without Lights (2 demerit points)
This list is by no means exhaustive.
Third suspension for traffic infractions
If your third driver’s license suspension is a result of traffic violations, it is just that- a driver’s license suspension. Keep in mind that you will have to pay the BMV any required fines and reinstatement fees in order to be able to drive again legally.
What happens if I do not reinstate my driver’s license?
Generally, if you do not reinstate your driver’s license from the traffic violations but keep driving anyway, you risk being charged with the crime of Operating After Suspension. Once the criminal convictions add up, you can run the risk of becoming a Habitual Offender.
Hope we have answered the question (What happens to my Maine driver’s license after my third suspension? ). If you need more information, here are topics related to license suspensions you might find helpful: