In Maine, if you are caught operating a motor vehicle on a suspended license you will be charged with Operating After Suspension (OAS). The question, “when does an OAS conviction drop from your driving record in Maine?”, is one that comes up from time to time with prospective clients.
If convicted of a first-time Operating After Suspension charge, there is a mandated minimum penalty of a $250 fine in addition to the collateral administrative suspension of 30 days from the BMV. Let’s explore a bit of the long term repercussions.
The main impact will be to your driving record and your wallet. The answer to our question (When does an OAS conviction drop from your driving record in Maine?) is the OAS conviction will always be on your driving record. It does not drop off over time. This fact will cause higher car insurance rates for you. On average driving without a license (or on a suspended licenses) will increase your car insurance rates by about 18%.
Having an attorney represent you for your Operating After Suspension Charges hearing is a wise choice. Once you are my client, I will request the BMV driving record along with police reports, any statements, or other discovery materials to help fight your case. I will review the specifics of your case examining the police stop and why you were pulled over, where you were operating the car, and perhaps if there was a bureaucratic mistake with your reinstatement at the BMV. Basically, I dig in using my experience and find the answers. Using these answers, I will aggressively advocate for you with the district attorney.
Dealing with a Maine Operating After Suspension (OAS) charge should not be taken lightly. It is a quick slippery slope and suddenly you may have additional expenses to pay for your lifetime. OAS is also one of the vehicular crimes the BMV counts against you for a Habitual Offender (HO) determination. These future repercussions are why it is just so important you take swift action to have counsel help you fight these charges. There are proven strategies to defending Maine Operating After Suspension (OAS) charges. The sooner our legal team becomes involved in the intricate details of case, the more time we will have to do our own fact finding as we help to prepare your defense. Whether the Maine Operating After Suspension (OAS) is due to drunk driving (OUI), failure to pay child support or fines or being convicted of driving to endanger (DTE), it is imperative that you contact our firm as quickly as possible after the arrest.
Our committed legal team is determined to take immediate action to seek a positive case outcome. If you or someone you know is charged with a Maine Operating After Suspension Charge, I encourage you to contact The Nielsen Group for your free legal consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney. We will take the time to answer your questions and to put your mind at ease as we work with you to determine a defense strategy.
It is well worth your time to check out:
If you would like to call us now at (207) 571-8555, we can begin to develop your case strategy.
If you enjoyed this answer to the question (When does an OAS conviction drop from your driving record in Maine?), you may also want to read: