Let’s take a look and assure we understand what the Maine DUI Laws are at least at a high level.
Maine DUI Laws
In states other than Maine, the crime is commonly referred to as Driving Under the Influence (DUI). In Maine DUI is actually referred to as OUI. OUI is an acronym for Operating Under the Influence. Operating Under the Influence as a crime which involves operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants or while having a blood alcohol test (BAC) of .08% or higher. The term Operate refers to either engage a transmission to direct power to the wheels of a motor vehicle or an attempt to do so. Under the Influence references when a person is impaired to some degree by intoxicants. Intoxicants can include over the counter drugs, prescription drugs, alcohol, or any other substance which is able to impair the individual operating the motor vehicle. Please keep in mind, with prescription drugs, it is not a defense that it was a prescription.
Minimum Sentences For OUI in Maine:
An OUI in Maine is classified as a Class D misdemeanor. It carries a maximum jail sentence of 364 days and a maximum fine of $2000. The Second offense OUI is a misdemeanor too however the line is drawn at third offense OUI is a felony. Maine OUI laws allow probation for some misdemeanor OUI crimes. If you find yourself in violation of the Maine DUI Laws, a Maine OUI defense attorney may be able to advise you on the best approach to manage your case and clarify the sentencing requirements and classifications.
Contact Criminal Defense Lawyer Chris Nielsen
If you or someone you know is accused of violating Maine DUI Laws, I encourage you to contact The Nielsen Group for your free legal consultation with an experienced Maine criminal defense attorney. We will take the time to assure we answer all your questions and put your mind at ease.
If you enjoyed this post on the Maine DUI Laws, you may also want to read:
- Court Process for Maine OUI Laws
- Aggravated Cultivation of Marijuana – the story of a felony charge